Oct 2, 2010

The History of the Gbong Gwon Stool

According to the history and tradition of the Beroms, late Da Dachung Gyang was the first Gbong Gwon Berom and ruled from 1935 to 1952. The traditional stool was in the present day Riyom Local Government Area where he presided over 79 traditional rulers as the first Chairman of the traditional council.

The 79 traditional rulers came from the then Jos Division that eventually evolved into six local government areas including Jos North, Jos South, Bassa, Riyom, Barkin Ladi and Jos East.

From 1952 the stool remained dormant until it was restored in 1974 when late Rwang Pam became the first elected Gbong Gwom Jos and died in July 1979 after 22 years on the throne.

In 1970 the second Gbong Gwom, late Dr. Fom Bot ascended the throne, ruled for 32 years and died 1st December 2002.

After two years, Da Victor Dung Pam emerged as the fourth Gbong Gwom Jos and died in March 2009. He was immediately succeeded by former Comptroller General of the Federation, Elder Jacob Gyang Buba who currently sits on the throne.

No comments:

Post a Comment

My Opinion about Bet9ja’s Possible Closure

Bet9ja is a gambling company, with signboards seen everywhere across Nigeria. Its ubiquity is an indication to how much money the com...